Everybody Wins! DC Gala 2010

Everybody Wins! DC held their 2010 Gala at the Washington Capital Hilton on March 09, 2010.  The event, as always, was well attended, showing the commitment that so many people have to this fabulous organization.

Vinny Hughes, Operations Manager for Everybody Wins! DC is picutred with Quin Woodward Pu, publisher of the news blog the Little Black Blog, and Amanda Holcomb.

Norah O’Donnell was the emcee for the awards and silent auction.

Mary Salander, Executive Director of Everybody Wins! DC, welcomed the guests to dinner and the awards ceremony.

Secretary of Education Arne Duncan received a special introduction by a fifth grade student from Key Elementary.

Members of the Thomson Elementary Choir sang beautifully.

General Lyles presented the Minnon Friedman Mentor of the Year Award to Gerry Lamb shown with his mentee from Tyler Elementary School.

A student from Brent Elementary introduced her mentor Vicki Kennedy.

Mrs. Kennedy introduced and presented awards to Congressman Moran and Senator Harkin.

Senator Harking presented awards to representatives from Kirkland & Ellis, General Dynamics, and Verizon in recognition of their generous support of Everybody Wins! DC.

If you have a schedule that allows you to participate as a mentor with Everybody Wins!, I encourage you to get in touch with them.  They are a fabulous organization doing crucial work with children.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s